How to make review and sales videos on the cheap

Here is a quick tutorial on how to make review and sales videos without spending a bunch of money.

Making a review video or even a sales video is not that hard. All you need to do is use a screen cast program and tools you probably already have on your computer. The key is to pause the screen cast program as you change things.

For example if you want to make a text / speech video. Use any desktop publishing software (or even paint / notepad). Put our text on it, record yourself reading it, pause the video, change the text, and repeat. Very quickly you can make a text / speech video without needing any extra software.

Want to put a product shot or demo inside of your video, simple, just prerecord your demo (with your screen cast program) and play it on your screen with Media Player. Pause your screen cast program, play your review video, full screen, and then unpause the screen cast program. The net result is that you just spliced another video into your screen cast.

While eventually anyone really interested in review videos or video marketing will probably want to get a professional level video editor this is a great way for someone to get started without spending a bunch of money. In fact the only thing you really need a screen cast program. For that I personally like (screencast-o-matic) which costs about $15 only. But if you really dont want to spend even that, there are free options out there (like screenr.com).

I hope this video helped you see what can be done, and how  you can make decent review videos and sales videos without needing to shell out a lot of your cash. If you have any questions please post them in the comments. Im always glad to help when I can.

 


  
 
 A quick note about the reviews on this site: I am an affiliate for every product I review. The vendors of these products give me them without charge in order for me to test them. However all my reviews are done as honestly as possible and I make no promises to the vendor prior to writing my review. Should you click a link on this site that takes you to a paid product this link will be an affiliate link and I will be paid a percentage of the sales price should you decide to purchase that product.
Want to learn the REAL way to start a profitable online 100% for free? Watch the video below!

  1. Mustafa, 14 January, 2015

    Hey Brett,

    Thanks for this tutorial.

    Can you recommend a good quality and reasonably priced microphone to use for sales videos?

  2. Brett Rutecky, 14 January, 2015

    I just use a $9 mic I got from Walmart 🙂 It works fine since your sitting 2 feet way from it at your computer.

  3. Barry McCoy, 15 January, 2015

    Great information as usual!

    Screencast-o-matic is indeed a great program to use and the $15 upgrade is awesome. You can actually create “video sales letters” from this program using the Edit functions…ie, you create text boxes that you can actually time to come on at certain points in your sales letter or review video.

    How to get that white background – just screencast capture a blank notepad, or whatever – for your background.

    For a microphone – Brett is right – there is a decent one at Walmart or other retailers. I use a HD camera that has the built in microphone that works perfect. This way, if you are not shy, you can actually add a second video of yourself talking right into a corner of your video sales letter.

    Brett is right, eventually, you will want to get a better video editor, and there are several that have been major sellers in the past 4-6 months. As a matter of fact, I use one of those as well as screencast-o-matic to make the videos that I use in Brett’s FB auto video click program.

    So, in a nutshell – and as we continue to get bombarded with all these video creation software products, etc…you do have inexpensive and free options to get started as Brett wrote.

    The bottom line is, you have to get your video seen – and that is where the money really is.

  4. Brett Rutecky, 15 January, 2015

    I was actually going to say that in the video Barry, you can use SqueezeMatic to make your ‘slides’. Preview them, read any text, and then change slides etc.. but I did not want to ‘self promote’ in a training video so I mentioned the free version of Serif Page Plus instead 🙂 But your correct, if you have SqueezeMatic, its an excellent choice for the method I described in this training.

  5. Paul, 15 January, 2015

    Great info Brett,
    I have been using Screencast for a year, mainly to record interesting webinars.
    Great software at a bargain price.

  6. joseph, 15 January, 2015

    Real Nice Mr Brett,

    Thanks for the demo
    Very helpful, and very well done.
    regards
    Joseph

  7. Christer, 15 January, 2015

    Thank you

  8. Colin Jeffrey, 15 January, 2015

    I purchased that product and now have this education, Brett young man, $15 PER YEAR:
    Your good there’s no getting away with that.

    Colin Jefrey

  9. James Lewey, 15 January, 2015

    Thanks for this tutorial.
    CamStudio works great for recording presentation windows and OpenOffice has a presentation creation module that works great and it’s free.

  10. Keith Flaherty, 15 January, 2015

    To review a product, dose that mean you have to buy it?

  11. Brett Rutecky, 15 January, 2015

    Yes and No. Sometimes I buy products that I review. But honestly because I have done a lot of affiliate sales often I can just ask the vendor to give me a copy for free and they normally do. If your getting started you might have trouble with this at first. However you can just do reviews of products your going to buy anyway. Just make an honest review of what you though of the product as a customer.

  12. Keith Flaherty, 15 January, 2015

    I need i real kick in the butt, i have Pro Screencast-o-matic, i have Explaindio, i have your FB product but i have yet to do anything.

  13. Frank Bruno, 15 January, 2015

    Thanks for this info!!
    Can you recommend a good video software editor. Thanks!

  14. Brett Rutecky, 15 January, 2015

    I use AVS Video Editor

  15. Lyn, 20 January, 2015

    Looks like AVS Video Editor is for Win. Can you recommend one for MAC? Thanks!

  16. Brett Rutecky, 20 January, 2015

    Sorry Im a Windows guy (perhaps one of the last of a dieing breed it seems) I dont even own a MAC.

  17. Louis Chan Chui, 29 May, 2015

    I know many other IM’ers use Camtasia. Is there a particular reason why you use AVS Video Editor instead, Brett?

  18. Brett Rutecky, 29 May, 2015

    Its the first one I tried. I liked it, it worked well and was not expensive. So I keep using it.

  19. john, 15 January, 2015

    Hi Brett,

    I have your FB Video version, but can you recommend a software that makes Images clickable on Facebook?

  20. Brett Rutecky, 16 January, 2015

    Hmm I could write something that does that without much trouble if its something people would be interested in.

  21. selwyn, 20 January, 2015

    Hi Brett, I would be interested in an app like that.

  22. John, 16 January, 2015

    Thanks Brett for all your great info. What you send to us is more than helpful, don`t stop

  23. keith, 23 July, 2015

    Great info Brett !!! Thanks !!

Prove your human: *

Copyright © Brett Rutecky